Content Skip to content.
San Diego State University

Liberal Studies Header Logo

Welcome to Liberal Studies

 

 

Liberal Studies is the 15th largest major at SDSU!

cleardot.gif

SDSU’s Liberal Studies major is designed for future elementary and middle school teachers. 


The Liberal Studies major prepares students to pursue a regular multiple subjects credential or other credential possibilities.  These possibilities include special education, a multiple subjects credential in bilingual education, and various middle school authorizations or credentials.


Coursework in the Liberal Studies major aligns with California’s education standards.  The courses are excellent preparation for the multiple subjects CSET exam, which is required for admission to California’s elementary education credential programs. Courses also provide multiple opportunities for students to gain field experience in various settings.


View a podcast about our program
.

See what our graduates are saying about us.


Learn more:


Announcements

 

National Scholarships and Fellowships Website

 

Students interested in applying for national scholarships and fellowships can visit the national scholarships and fellowships website to learn how to aply.

 

Congratulations!

Congratulations to Liberal Studies senior Caitlyn Roth for being named the 2016 outstanding grauduate of the Liberal Studies Program.

 


 

 

Contact Information

Sharon Bendall, Coordinator

Patricia Cardozo, Assistant Coordinator

Vicki Fielden, Academic Advisor

 

Liberal Studies Summer 2016 Advising Schedule

July

Thurday, July 28: 2:00 to 3:30

  

August


Tuesday, August 2: 10:15 to 3:00

Thursday, August 4: 9:00-2:30 by appointment only

Tuesday, August 9: 10:15 to 3:00

Tuesday, August 16: 10:15 to 3:00

Wednesday, August 17: 9:00-2:30

Thursday, August 18: Appointments with new transfer students

Tuesday, August 23: 9:00-2:30

Wednesday, August 24: 9:00-2:30

Thursday, August 25: 9:00-2:30 Walk-ins and some appointments

Tuesday, August 30: 9:00-2:30

Wednesday, August 31: 9:00-2:30

 

September

 

Thursday, September 1: 9:00-2:30

 

Email Advising:

libst@mail.sdsu.edu

Include your Red ID#

 

Office: EBA 259 

 

Mailing address:

5500 Campanile Drive
San Diego CA 92182-1100